Sebastian Sternal
Deutsch | English

Sternal Symphonic Society

In his new project ECHO jazz-award-winner Sebastian Sternal brings together outstanding young musicians from both classical and jazz backgrounds in an 11-piece 'symphonic combo'.
The improvisational skills of a great jazz band meet the deep sound of a classical string quartet. Sebastian Sternal conducts his new compositions that combine Brahms and Herbie Hancock, Debussy and Miles Davis to create a multicolored orchestral soundscape. Band members are - among others - Frederik Köster (WDR jazzprize 2009, ECHO Jazz 2010), Pablo Held, Robert Landfermann & Jonas Burgwinkel (WDR jazzprize 2009), Klaus Heidenreich (NDR Big Band) and multi-award-winning young violin player Erik Schumann.

Frederik Köster - trumpet
Klaus Heidenreich - trombone
Christoph Möckel - alto sax / flute
Niels Klein - tenor sax / clarinet

Erik Schumann - violin I
Lisa Schumann - violin II
Ayako Goto - viola
Mark Schumann - cello

Pablo Held - piano
Robert Landfermann - bass
Jonas Burgwinkel - drums

Sebastian Sternal - composer, conductor


Sternal Symphonic Society EPK 2015
symphony EPK
symphony Telekom Forum